Manage your Nodes¶
Once you have created a Virtual Compute Node, you can access and manage your virtual compute nodes from My Account Portal dashboard features. Go to your E2E Networks My Account portal to access the dashboard.
After you log in to the E2E Networks ‘My Account’, you can click on the “Nodes” sub-menu available under the “Products” section. You will be routed to the ‘Manage Nodes’ page where you can see all your nodes, except the nodes that are already terminated. Here, You can check the summary & status of all your Nodes.
You can perform the following actions available for the respective nodes
If your server is Powered off, clicking on the Start button will be Power On your Nodes.
Click on the Power Off button to turn Off your node. It will take a couple of minutes to turn Off your node. All the management operations will be disabled on this node till while the function is being performed.
Powering off Node will not stop billing. You will continue to pay for the Node until it is Terminated. If you have an active disk-intensive system running, power off may lead to data corruption and data loss (the best option is to turn off the machine from within OS).
Click on the Reboot button to restart your node without re-installing the node image. Reboot operation is just like powering off and then powering on the node. It will take a few minutes to restart your node.
To save an image of a node, it must be in a powered-off state. Once the respective node is powered off. Click on the Save Image button and create a name of your node image. The save image creation will take a few minutes. Learn More about saved image
You will see a message ‘Your image is being saved this may take a while’.
All the available actions will be disabled on this node while the saved image is created. To access the saved image click on “Saved Images” button on the top right corner of the node table.
Most of the time you can easily access your node using the ssh command, but if you are not able to access your node, you can use the VNC console to directly access your node. It emulates as if you are directly interacting with an actual server present in front of you. VNC access is typically helpful when you wish to log in to revert some settings or to regain control of your node.
VNC access is typically helpful when you wish to log in to revert some settings or to regain control of your node. Click on the VNC Console button for Console access.
This option loads a viewer in your browser that allows you to access your server. Click on the console screen and press ENTER to ensure that the login prompt has focus. You will be prompted to enter your root login access credentials.
Once you get access you can reset any misbehaving configuration files or services in order to restore access.
Window Machine Console
Upgrade Node Plan¶
You can upgrade your node current plan to a higher plan, for this, you need to click on the Upgrade Node plan button. Kindly note this action button will be available only if your respective node is eligible for the upgrade or higher node plan is available. Please feel free to contact sales at email@example.com if you want to convert or upgrade your node plan.
There will be downtime to upgrade your node plan and you will be billed as per the new price of the upgraded plan. Also, The downgrading option of the node plan is not available.
If you click on any respective Nodes, You will get all the details of nodes.
- Node Configuration Details
- Pricing Details
- Memory and Storage Details
- Monitoring provides visibility into real-time monitoring of metrics collected from your virtual machine Nodes and resource usage across your infrastructure. The Server Health Monitoring providers infrastructure insights with graphs and usage statistics. Learn More
If you further Scroll it down in Node detail section, You will find Quick access part where you can perform below action
Locking Node feature will disable all the actions mentioned below for a Node.
- Save Image
- Power off
- Upgrade Node Plan
This would stop accidental destruction or restrict any changes being made for an Important node.
At any time you can clean your server and reinstall a clean OS rather than creating a new node. Click on the reinstall button to place your new, clean node. A confirmation notification will appear ‘Are you sure you want to reinstall OS’. Click Ok to proceed and the state will change to ‘Reinstalling’. After a couple of minutes, your node will be re-installed and ready for use.
If your node has any add-on licenses, please make sure to reactivate/reinstall the licenses after reinstalling the node. click here to reinstall the BitNinja agent on your node or please contact the cloud platform support team at firstname.lastname@example.org to reactivate MS SQL or RDP licenses.
Click on the Delete button to delete your node. Termination of a node will delete all the data on it.
If you are using a committed plan for selected nodes then you would not able to delete the node before the committed period end date.
Convert to Committed Node¶
If your node is currently billed on an hourly basis, you may be able to save cost on some of the select plans by converting to “committed plans”. Committed plans have an in-built discount because the total cost of running the node for the committed period is considerably less compared to the cost of the same node if that is billed on an hourly rate for the same committed period. Learn More.
The committed plans are available only for selected nodes family and configuration. Please feel free to contact our sales team if you wish to convert a node to committed plan but committed plans are not available for that node. We may be able to provide committed plans for that node too.
Committed Node Settings¶
Click on the Committed Node Settings button to configure your committed node instance. This is typically required to configure the node regarding action to be taken after the committed period is over. The default setting is set to “auto-renew” the committed period of the committed node in the same plan, but you may choose to “auto-terminate” or change to hourly billing plan or to some other committed period. Learn more.
Kindly note this action will be available for the nodes that are running under committed plans.